The Sin of Truth

When I was young
All of the worthwhile adults in my life
Told me:
“Be Honest.”
“Be True.”
“Never lie.”
And they promised me
That it would all pay off in the end
And I would feel happy
Content in my sincerity

It’s taken two decades
For me to realise
They were all wrong

There is nothing worse
Than telling a long forgotten truth
or being honest and open
At a time
When all people want
are the comfort of lies
And I’ll be condemned to feel
As if I have committed the ultimate sin
Of being authentic

Leave a Reply

