We do so alone

Death

It terrifies me

The knowing
That there isn’t
Any
Coming back
And the knowing
That it is something
We can only experience
Alone
Scares me

And the idea
That I can’t hold hands
With anyone
When I take that leap
Off of the mortal coil
makes me sad

At least when born
We are all born
Into the arms
Of someone around you
Whether they love you
Or not
They hold you
And for only seconds
Or maybe even days
You’re in an embrace

And I know now
After trying it
so many times
by myself
That
Shortly before I die
I want to do so
Being held in an embrace
So at that moment
I can leave this world

In love.

Leave a Reply

