Unfinished Sympathy

It was only after
We had finished our argument
leaving in separate directions
That I felt the bout
Of unfinished sympathy

It doesn’t take
A small leap of faith
To know that I
Can sometimes be
The atomic explosion
decimating the landscape

And she, the child
Running from the fallout
Alone and terrified
As my force pursues her
Viciously destructive

I’ll stop and turn back
Apologising, as I always do
And hope that she can forgive me
These moments
When my timer runs down

Leave a Reply

