The Beat of a Lonely Heart

I’ve spent so long
inside my own head
thinking with it
dreaming with it
deciding with it
loving with it
and hating with it

I can think about it now
and I can see
that I used up so much time
stuck in my mind
that I forgot
where my heart was

So I place my right hand
to my chest…

There….

I can feel it…

The quiet beat
of a lonely heart
tapping gently
against my palm

I decide
that I shall tell it now
that I promise
hand on heart
I will never leave it alone
ever again

Leave a Reply

